Ivetta Sunyoung Kang

Artist in residency
From March 6 to April 2,
2019


DAÏMÔN is pleased to host artist Ivetta Sunyoung Kang for a four-week residency where she will be working on an exclusive project.
 
  
‘’ Of the Insular is an interdisciplinary project that attempts to summon an island called Maehaw-Do, located on the Southwestern Sea of South Korea. Having only 100 families residing, this ​6.67km² sized island is where my grandmother has been living and my father was born and raised on. This piece concentrates to awaken the liminality of fluidity and solid of moving image; as to juxtapose super 8mm footage presenting a placid landscape of the island on sculptural objects‘’
 
Ivetta Sunyoung Kang

 

 

 

Ivetta Sunyoung Kang is an artist working across films, videos, video installations, visual performances and expanded cinema, engaging in philosophical and phenomenological inquiries throughout these media. After pursuing a BFA in fiction films in South Korea, Kang continued to explore her interests in cinematic possibilities as a visual arts medium. She obtained her MFA with a Film Production Concentration at Concordia University in Montreal.
 
Kang looks at durational art forms, mostly within the platform of the moving-image, as tangible receptacles of the immaterial realm. Her films and videos have been shown internationally at various festivals and galleries, including in Korea, Canada, US, India, France, and Colombia. She was shortlisted for the 2016 Sylvie and Simon Blais Award for Emerging Visual Artists. She frequently collaborates with filmmakers and sound artists on site-specific audial-visual installation projects.

Ivetta Sunyoung Kang

Résidence d’artiste
du 6 mars au 2 avril 2019


DAÏMÔN est heureux d’accueillir l’artiste Ivetta Sunyoung Kang durant une résidence de quatre semaines pour le développement d’un projet exclusif.

 
« Of the Insular e​st un projet interdisciplinaire qui évoque l’île Maehaw-Do située au sud-ouest de la mer sud-coréenne. Abritant près de cent familles, cette île, d’une superficie de ​seulement 6,67 km², fût le domicile de mon grand-mère où il donna naissance à mon père. Cette œuvre s’avère une étude portant sur la liminarité de l’affluence et la solidité́ de l’image en mouvement en juxtaposant des images Super 8 projetées sur des objets aux formes sculpturales, offrant ainsi une représentation des paysages sereins de l’île ».
 
Ivetta Sunyoung Kang

 

 

 

Ivetta Sunyoung Kang est une artiste qui travaille à travers le film, la vidéo, l’installation vidéo, la performance ainsi que le cinéma, tout en s’engageant dans des enquêtes philosophiques et phénoménologiques par l’utilisation de ces médias. Après un Baccalauréat en arts visuels avec une concentration sur la cinématographie de fiction en Corée du Sud, Kang a continué́ à explorer ses intérêts parallèlement aux arts visuels pour obtenir sa maîtrise en arts visuels dans la concentration de production de film à l’Université́ Concordia à Montréal.
 
Kang se penche sur les productions de longue durée principalement par des ‘images en mouvement en tant que réceptacles tangibles du royaume immatériel. Ses films et vidéos ont été́ présentés internationalement dans divers festivals et galeries, notamment en Corée, au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Inde, en France et en Colombie. Elle a été présélectionnée pour le Prix Sylvie et Simon Blais en 2016 pour les artistes visuels émergents. Elle collabore fréquemment avec des cinéastes et des artistes sonores sur des installations audiovisuelles.